Julya Rabinowich

© Michael Mazohl

Julya Rabinowich

Julya Rabinowich was born in 1970 in St. Petersburg. She has been living in Vienna since 1977 and studied at university there. The author of several plays, she also paints and works as an interpreter. Her debut novel, Spaltkopf (2008, reissued by Deuticke 2011), won her the Rauris Prize for Literature amongst others. Deuticke published her novels Herznovelle (2011), Die Erdfresserin (2012) and most recently Krötenliebe (2016).

More books of Julya Rabinowich

Me: In-Between

Me: In-Between

15-year old Madina shares her fate with many refugee children: All of them are building bridges between their families and their new lives in the western world.

Where is Madina from? ...


The Earth Eater

The Earth Eater

Diana is one of many women who leave their home in the former Soviet Union behind and set out to provide for their families, usurping the role of the traditional male breadwinner.

As ...




Mischka spends the first years of her life in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg). Splithead and Baba Yaga, the witch from the Russian fable, are as real to the little girl as are the aunts, uncles, ...


Show all titles of Julya Rabinowich

Julya Rabinowich


Julya Rabinowich: "Krötenliebe" | Zur Veranstaltungs-Website

St. Pölten
Stadtmuseum St. Pölten,
Prandtauerstraße 2,
3100 St. Pölten

Julya Rabinowich: "Spaltkopf" und "Dazwischen: Ich"

Universität Wien, Großer Festsaal, 1. Stock,
Universitätsring 1,
1010 Wien

Julya Rabinowich liest aus "Dazwischen: Ich"

Schulbibliothek am BG/BRG Villach St. Martin,
St. Martiner Str. 7,
9500 Villach

Alle Termine des Autors
Termine aller Autoren


2017 Österreichischer Kinder- und Jugendbuchpreis

2016 Beste 7 Bücher für junge Leser, Deutschlandfunk

2016 Beste 7 Bücher für junge Leser, Deutschlandfunk

2016 Luchs des Monats (Die Zeit & Radio Bremen)

2016 Esel des Monats der Fachzeitschrift für Kinder- und Jugendmedien Eselsohr

2015 Elias-Canetti-Stipendium der Stadt Wien

2014 Frauenpreis der Stadt Wien

2013 Marianne-von-Willemer-Preis

2012 Elias-Canetti-Stipendium der Stadt Wien

2010 Elias-Canetti-Stipendium der Stadt Wien

2009 Arbeitsstipendium des Bundeskanzleramtes für Literatur

2009 MiA - award

2009 Rauriser Literaturpreis

2006 Stipendium der Wiener Wortstätten

2004 Arbeitsstipendium der Stadt Wien

2003 edition exil "Schreiben zwischen den Kulturen"


Im Deuticke Verlag sind erschienen
2008 Spaltkopf. Roman (Neuauflage)
2011 Herznovelle
2012 Die Erdfresserin. Roman
2016 Krötenliebe. Roman

Im Hanser Kinderbuch
2016 Dazwischen: Ich. Jugendbuch